Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

can you use a webcam with a reflector?

amyscott

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Amy, it's not dumb - it's actually a very good question. One which I am not expert enough to answer fully except to say that there is a simple relationship between the scope focal length and the sensor size. You can effectively double the mag for a given focal length by using a x2 Barlow. One of the imagers will be along shortly with a better answer!

I am not really an expert but you can most certainly use a webcam, direct in the focus tube on a reflector to great effect.

The magnification is from the curved mirror at the bottom of the scope, this is basically the equivalent of the lenses in a refractor (I think !)

I have stopped there because thats basically all I understand about it :)

If you follow the link from my sig there are some examples of my images using a spc900nc webcam in a reflector.

"Magnification" is something that is linked to afocal systems (a scope plus eyepiece). But for a telescope plus sensor, the field of view of a sensor of size X i a given direction is given by:

Field (in degrees) = sensor size / focal length telescope * 57.3.

And yes, with a barlow the telescope plus barlow system has its focal length increased by the barlow factor.

FWIW, the ubiquitous SPC900n has a sensor with a diagonal of 4mm and a long side of 3.2mm. 4mm is the field stop size of a 6mm ortho, so what one of those webcam sensors showis indeed a rectangular field that just fits in the field of a 6mm ortho. Obviously, if it's a 6mm Ethos it's quite different :).

just to add to that, can the webcam be used without the barlow lens because i was able to focus with a 3 times but removing it i wasnt able to. Also im not sure how i could process with Registax as a one minute exposure was moving over the moon like i was flying over it!!