NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

M31 and subs question

swag72

I have taken the following subs of M31 using my 5D2 and 300mm at f4.5, using my HEQ5 goto.

Lights - 25x91s, 39x44s, 28x60s and 2x120s

Darks - 4 x 91s, 28x44s and 9x60s.

I haven't taken flats - Still trying to work on those!!

So I stacked the 1hr 38mins worth of images into DSS and what I got out was quite a little underwhelming. Is this because I need loads more data? What would you suggest I should get on the next cloudless night?

Also can you point me in the direction of how to take flats - REALLY EASY method please!! For some reason, flats scare the living daylights out of me!

Im no expert but often find im not inpressed when I look at the DSS Output, however once i then open the file in PhotoShop and start the Levels and Curves process all the data seems to appear very nicley. Assume you post processing ?

John B

You should have enough data for a reasonable image. What post orocessing are you doing after DSS? The arttached was my first DS image with a Epsilon 180 with 20 30sec subs (no flats or darks) I stacked in DSS the imported into PS CS3 using FITS Lib and a log streach then sone curves in PS.

Andrew

post-21962-133877513522_thumb.jpg

The DSS image was quite flat, so I wasn't too bothered as I know what can be done in PP. But even curves, levels etc just left the whole think looking like a soft mass. No definition or anything. Very disappointing. Perhaps though I just need more?

When you saved the output from DSS did you "Save with adjustments embeded" (or words to that effect) makes a significant difference. After that you are into working / playing around in Photoshop or similar for hours (weeks in my case) trying to extract the detail you have actually captured.

Ian