Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Canon 1000d dSLR

Hello.

I've just purchased the 1000d body ( :) ) and was wondering if anyone could recommend a good starter lens to go with it as I've read reviews that the supplied kit lens is a bit rubbish; I don't want to spend £100s?

Addendum: I am a complete newbie to dSLRs as I've only ever used compact cameras.

Thanks.

Richard.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi. I have two 1000D bodies with various lenses available. I think it is a great camera for daytime & astro use. One is standard, the other has had the IR cut filter removed.

For 'daytime' I use the standard 18-55 (non IS) lens or a Tamron telephoto. Both are autofocus & aperture so allow good results from point & shoot.

For astro use, I have various old non-auto M42 thread lenses with canon/M42 adapter. Obviously these are left wide open and the focus fixed. I would recommend locking the lens focus with chewing gum, blue tack, hose clamp or whatever you find convenient. it is very easy to nudge the focus in the dark.

There are potential problems with old lenses. They are heavy compared to modern lenses. Some of them aren't too good on coatings. But for low cost wide field astro, the performance for ££ spent can be really good.

You can of course hang your camera straight on the scope. The ST102 works well, but the focus is a long way back so you will need an extension tube.

For now, use the camera on full auto in daylight. The various 'clever' modes can be overpowering. The manual is not that well written. Be patient and enjoy the learning. At least you can delete poor pictures and you aren't paying processing charges!

For astro, use the manual mode. Set the mirror to be left up. Set a shutter delay. These steps will ensure the mount has time to stop shaking before taking a picture.

Practice astro photos first in daylight or twilight. That way it will be much easier to find the buttons in the dark.