NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Knowing what you know.....

Knowing what you know now....if you had to start new, what scope would you go for?

I'm a newbie who has been playing with a 4" Tasco type tube which although gives not very good images, no tracking and rubbish mount has made me want 'more'!

So, I was thinking of something like the LXD75 10" and as a review on this site looks into, possibly upgrading the mount. OR I could save lots of money and go for a LX200, or Celestron, or I could go for a Skywatcher? All very different price ranges.....

So, what do I want to do? Well a bit of everything but I do see myself getting into astrophotography/imaging as I think this is a great thing to do and to share with other around you. I also want to get my kids into it at an early age.....

So, what would you do - now that you know.....?

ps - if this is in the wrong place then feel free to move it....

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've just recently "started again" :)

I just upgraded from my nasty old 4.5" cat, to a nice new shiny 8" lightbridge Dob.

Easy to dismantle and stick in the back of the old rustbucket. Handy as

all the neighbours seem to like wasting money lighting up the fields

behind where I live.

All I need now, is a few more EPs and accessories to do some good

old fashioned observing :D

Being realistic you cant really do it with one scope.. But.. I would go for a 8"-10" Dob and an 80mm apo or semi apo on the best mount you could afford. chubster has an EQ5 going cheap in the members by/sell that would be nice with a motor kit on it to start with.

second hand you should be able to pick up a Dob for £300 or under, the reveleation ones are fine btw if you can find someone selling one, and as for cheap 80mm's well theres quite a few to choose from but £329 will get you an apo/ed and £240 a semi apo ( new)

Skywatcher 200mm f/5 Newt. on HEQ5 goto mount.

Again and again.

Big enough for DSOs and can do planets.