Absolute minimum laptop requirements?

Hi, I'm a novice at astronomy but have got my telescope, my dslr camera and am ready to have my first go at astrophotography, :), but my question here is, what minimum's do I need to run my astronomy attempts (photography or otherwise) on a laptop, as I'm about to purchase one but want to make sure I get one that is suitable for my needs atronomy wise.

Thanks for any guidance :mad:

Hi, My first laptop was an HP 1.8ghz single core and it did all I needed at the time apart from processing images, it did struggle. I now have an HP 1.8ghz dual core which flys. The only problem is screen resolution is 1024 x 768 max which makes for moving apps about a bit of a chore. I'd say get what you can afford but make sure it has a decent screen res and a large hard drive, memory you can add later.

If I may butt in on Black Star's thread, wrt computers and ap, which is more important . . . RAM or speed/number of processors?

I ask because the statement that memory can be added later is only true if the laptop mb is socketed for enough memory. I have an HP 1.8 dual core with 2GB RAM and cannot add more. It has been my experience that adding RAM is generally better money spent for performance improvement. I wondered if the biggest multi-processor systems benefited as much from additional RAM as do the more modest systems. I ask because I'm making the assumption that ap requires a lot of data and usually data intensive applications benefit from as much memory as can be applied.

My netbook runs CdC (and Stallarium), PHD and SharpCap all at the same time. Processing is done on a desktop, there is no way the netbook would cope - and if it did, it would take an age.

A desktop and a cheap laptop/netbook is probably cheaper and may be a better solution than a top end laptop.

Hi Bright Star and welcome :)