NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

How to hook up power outdoors?

Hello all :)

As I am new to the 'craft' I went and bought myself my first pair of binocs the other day,the Adler Kosmos 15 x 70 .Now what I am thinking is,I would sometime like to take my car and my laptop with me whenever I go out on my first stargazing session with the binocs,just in case I decide to query online anything I may see.Ideally I want to hook my laptop up to a power supply so that I have hours of juice for the night ahead.

Can someone tell me the standard procedure for aqquiring power outdoors (is there a minimum voltage requirement?) for your equipment and a recommended product for me to be looking at?

Many thanks.

Paul.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

a lot of people use power packs eg Green Witch Celestron 12v 7Ah Power Tank not sure about laptops but I assume that people use them for that too??

I just use a mains transformer at home and cigar lighter / batteries for my fans in the field. the beauty of a dob!

I am also buying a PDA for £30 off ebay and some free software will prevent the need for a laptop.

I almost forgot,do you know of a decent tripod that could be mounted to the Adler Kosmos 15 x 70 ? as from what I read in the product description they could be quite cumbersome during prolonged periods of viewing manually with your hands.

Thanks again :)

I almost forgot,do you know of a decent tripod that could be mounted to the Adler Kosmos 15 x 70 ? as from what I read in the product description they could be quite cumbersome during prolonged periods of viewing manually with your hands.

Thanks again :)

By the way,the PDA you are thinking about sounds useful,good idea!

By the way,the PDA you are thinking about sounds useful,good idea!