Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

ebay and telescopes prices i dont get it ?

after reading more than enuff on astro telescopes and new prices i cant understand the silly prices people pay on ebay, although im just a novice...take the mead etx 80 you can buy this new for £250 , you see them going for £180 to £200 and thats without postage on top ?? ok there may be some bargins to be had true , but to buy a go to telescope not knowing whats its like and if the motar drive is ok , ie it could have had a hard life is a little to worrying for me , and for the £30 you save it just isnt worth the risk , blimey peeps on ebay are paying silly money for the etx 70 , update i was going to buy the skyline 200 for £279 but after reading about collimation after a certain period in time , which i couldnt carry out if i tried lol i think im going to plump for a brand spanking new etx 80 at £250 i know im going to lose quite a bit of viewing but that cllimation stuff put me off the skyliner 200. great forum by the way and many many thanks for thoose that replied to my first thread .great help although scared me off the skyliner lol :)

SERIOUSLY don't worry about collimation. it's a 30 second job most of the time.

I am not saying don't go for your chosen scope but don't let collimation be the reason.

in my view, the 200p would blow the 80mm out of the water in almost every way.

I agree that people seem to get carried away on Ebay. also even with used goods. I have recently concluded that in some ways, buying new eyepieces is better. eg (with the bank holiday discount of 10% at Telescope House) you can buy a new Televue Plossl for £62. used they go for around £45-50. For me you are far better paying £12 extra and getting a new one! the same applies to some extent to eg the Radians which go for £153 new and with the discount. for a mint one with box you'd pay maybe £100-120. Well worth paying the extra if you are sure you'll be keeping it.