Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Kelling Report 11.09.10

philj

Kelling 11th September Observation Report

(Please Note Im a newbie to double and planetary observing so forgive any terminology gaffs) :D

Equipment

Orion Telescopes & Binoculars 102ED on HEQ5 pro, fitted with side by side bar plus guide cam and scope, intended to be used for imaging with the 1000d.

4” F15 Fullerscopes Deluxe (1979) on Thomas Cooke Of York Portable Equatorial Mount (c1883), RA manual slow motion only no drives (and certainly no goto).

11th September 2010

Conditions, semi cloud cover from darkness to approx 23:00 clearing to cloud free skies for the rest of the night/morning.

The old saying of “Don’t fix it if it aint broke” applied to my imaging rig because I had changed a couple of components during the day and after an hour of messing finally got it to guide but then the cloud rolled in.

I therefore took the opportunity to use the 4” F15 between clouds. However I became so engrossed in the views I was getting under this incredible sky that I never went back to the imaging rig all night, despite the clouds clearing so the night was spent using the trusty old F15 on Cooke manual mount.

DSO

As conditions allowed I initially started to look at the old favourite DSOs to compare the views at Kelling with those I get at home. Now a 4” F15 refractor is not really a DSO scope but I must admit I was surprised at the views I was getting under these contrasty skies. The old favourites M13, M57, M27, M82 all gave good traditional views. M31 was just poking out from the tree tops and gave the typical fuzzy blob view at 61x but this time with a difference, allowing my eye to relax on the subject gave a hint that there were definite dark lanes in the object. Wobbling the scope confirmed they moved with the object and I was seeing some of the dark dust lanes in the galaxy, something I cant see from my skies with this scope, wow.