Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Illustrated Guide to Astronomical Wonders - first impressions

Moonshane

Hi all

Another member of SGL recommended this book some time ago and I finally order it new from Amazon on Saturday £16.09 delivered - amazingly it arrived today via their Super Saver Delivery service! I presume that over a certain weight they send by courier as their bulk usage discounts are cheaper than RM?

Illustrated Guide to Astronomical Wonders: From Novice to Master Observer DIY Science: Amazon.co.uk: Robert Bruce Thompson, Barbara Fritchman Thompson: Books

WOW, I mean WOW!!!

For anyone interested in astronomy from complete newbie to very experienced, and particularly for those using manually operated visual only units, I feel that on first impressions (not actually used it yet as it's not been dark since it arrived :)) this is a must buy book.

For the price alone it is worth having and the wealth of information is immense. If it were an eyepiece - it would be an Ethos as it covers such a wide range.

Within it there are 518 pages stuffed with all sorts of detail roughly summarised as follows:

Opening chapter with lots of advice of equipment, and a lot of detail on terminology etc - a great explanation of what degrees, minutes and seconds is all about etc.

After this there's the heart of the book. A chapter for each of the main northern hemisphere constellations (i.e. all of those with items on the Messier List, Best 100 (non Messier) NGC List, two binocular lists and a double star list - over 400 items to seek out).