NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

JPEG Reduction

All

I am a newbie. I have a newbie question.

Does anybody know how to compress jpeg images so that they can be mailed or posted . My pegs seem to be between 3 and 6MB and I need them to be down to 250kb.

Dalglish

You will need some software to reduce the size of the files but it normally means that the overall dimensions are reduced as well.

You could try something like Paint.net which is a free download and has some nice facilities, a bit like a cheap version of PhotoShop. :)

Thanks alot, I will explore that tonight.

I wonder. How do people manage to get pictures of their scopes onto the sale section of SGL which I presume they have taken with normal 'snap and shoot' digital cameras. I think there is a posting limit of 'small' kb but even cameras like Canon Sureshots produce 3MB jpegs when downloaded.

regards

Dalglish

re-size the image so it is no more than, say, 500 pixels wide and then save as a jpeg. Set the compression to around 5. That will turn my 5MB camera shots into about 200kB, it depends on what detail is in the picture.

Dennis

You probably need to resize them, after capturing. My Canon 450d produces images of about 5Mb each in jpg form, with some compression. But that's a large image at about 4500pixels by 2700 pixels. I resize them to 800px on the longest edge for posting, this brings the size down to about 150kb, depending on the data in the image itself.

Hello Dalglish,

On the current (August) edition of Computer Shopper's cover DVD is a program by Ashampoo - Photo Commander 7 which is just the job for resizing a wide range of image files as well as quite a few useful other functions. It's free, all you have to do is register on thier website for a free licence key.

Doc

IrfanView is a very useful tool and you can 'batch' process, which can save a lot of time

On my PCs is the default image viewer since a lot of year.

It's my favorite tool to