Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie needs help to see the moon

I am new to this and know nothing about telescopes; I am looking for one, with my daughter aged 11, to look at the moon in detail then the other plants. We have been reading up on NASA and Apollo and I thought we should take a closer look at the moon. We would like to take pictures but that is a secondary at this time.

Budget £200-300, would also consider second hand equipment if any for sale. Any advice gratefully received.

I have read other post and have one or two ideas what possibly to get but don't want to influence any advice I hope to receive.

Thanks Solti

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL. A good telescope to view the moon and the planets in my opinion would be a Skywatcher Skyliner 150p (£179 from First Light Optics). This telescope may come in well under budget but it would be a great performer on the moon and planets and pretty good on many other nights sky objects such as nebula, star clusters, galaxies and double stars. It stands on a very solid and steady base/mount and is extremely simple to use. With the money saved you could then add a couple of these - extra eyepiece, a barlow lens, moon filter (the moon can be very bright when viewed through a telescope) or a Telrad finder all very handy extras.

Alternatively you could go for the Skyliner 200p (£265 from FLO) same as the above but with more aperture and therefore better light grasp, this scope will give you great views of loads of night sky objects and would also be great on the moon and planets.

Are manualy-guided Dobsonians the ideal for the Moon and Planets? I would have thought something with an equautorial mount would be better so you can use a bit of magnification and easily keep the moving target in view.

Steve

Hi and welcome!!