Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Question on Aperture

Hi all :)

I am comparing the Celestron 4SE with a SkyMax 127 as possible first scopes.

My question is does a larger aperture always equate to a 'better' image?

A total noob question, I'm sure, but I'm wondering how much the quality of the optics comes into play.

Thanks for your valuable advice folks!

Thing of it as a bucket in the rain. The wider the bucket the more water you collect.

It's the same with a telescope, it collects light and focuses it in a point, making faint objects visible. With more aperture the image becomes brighter as it collects more light.

tbh, it depends what you are looking at. a cheap 8inch newt will give you better views of faint dso's than a top quality 4 inch refractor costing well over 10 times as much. However, the refractor will (i would hope...) give you "sharper" views of planet, moon and stars where light grasp is less of an issue. As always, the answer to any equipment related dilemna is, of course, "buy both"....

Thanks for the replies chaps.

I expect my interest will primarily be the planets, moons and stars; and of course DSO's but to a lesser extent (I think... it's certainly hard to know for sure when I have ZERO experience). Does anyone know which scope I can expect to see the best images through: The Celestron 4SE or the Skymax 127?

I agree with the other responses on the general issue of aperture v's optical quality. With regard to the 2 specific scopes you mention, they are of more or less equal optical quality and are the same optical design (maksutov-cassegrain) so the larger aperture will out perform the smaller one.

I can vouch for the 4SE been a great little scope, but be aware that apature fever once it setsin in 4inch wont be enough, I am already tempted to sell mine as i have picked up a 6inch SCT

Thanks again!

It's looking increasingly like its going to be the Skymax 127 for me.