Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New e/p advice please

I have an 8" f/10 SCT and until now have used the standard set of 1.25" Meade series 4000 plossls. Now that I have a shiny new WO 2" diagonal, I'm looking to buy a new 2" eyepiece that will give me a nice wide FOV. Can anyone recommend a good make, and recommend the best one to start with (18 mm ? 24mm ?) before I invest in a whole set. My budget per e/p is up to about £200.

Thanks in advance !

Nightjar

I have no experience with the premium brand eyepieces at this size but my Meade LX50 8" f10 SCT worked beautifully with the Skywatcher Panaview 32mm giving a true field of 1.15deg). SCT's are slow scopes and quite forgiving on cheaper eyepieces. There may not be a need to splash too much money on a top quality eyepiece. The 38mm Panaview will give a true field of view of 1.36deg in the SCT and should be a well corrected view too. A 31mm Nagler by comparison will give a true field of 1.26deg.

My suggestion would be to get an eyepiece around 40mm with a ~70° FOV, such as a 38mm PanaView. This would give you a low 53x magnification with a 1.3° FOV. You could get the 26mm as well for medium size DSOs, providing 77x and just under 1° of true field.

The SCT isn't demanding on eyepiece choice, so while the PanaViews are a somewhat "budget" line, they will perform very competently in your scope.

I think these two would offer a great addition to your collection, allowing larger FOV's to be captured than your 1.25" eyepieces.

Andrew

How about a William Optics 28mm Uwan I would imagine if you buy secondhand it's within your budget. It's got a FOV of 82° and will look awesome in your new WO diagonal.

Thanks for all the replies - so many in only a few minutes !

What about the Baader Hyperion series - anyone know what they are like ?

Nightjar

At F10 they should be very good. I had the 21, 17 and 8mm and I found the 21mm gave me alot of comet tailed stars around the edges but then that was at F4.5.