SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

14 year old from Malaysia

maximR

The title says it all. :)

Just got my first telescope 3 days ago, it's a Skywatcher 70mm Refractor with Altazimuth mount.

I couldn't see a thing when I first started to use it on the 1st day. On the second day, I could see terrestrial objects using lower powered lens. When night arrived and the stars begin to shine, I quickly mounted my telescope and started looking around. I couldn't find any planets, but I sure can see many,many stars that were once too faint for me to notice.

Next aim/goal:

Find any one of the famous planets, galaxy or nebulae.

:p

Hiya,

Welcome to SGL, I am a beginner as well had my telescope but brought it in the winter so did not really use it, now the summer is coming I decided to get it back out, after setting it up and not really knowing what to do, I decided to join this forum, it has helped me allot and know I have learned some new things I can start looking around the sky, this forum will provide you with alot of help so just ask around.

These are a couple of things that I got to help me:

- Binoculars (10x50)

- Star wheel (Planisphere)

- Compass (so I can find which way is north)

- Computer Software called Stellarium (this helps alot)

I also brought a book, has not come yet but it was cheap so I brought it.

The book is "Guide To The Northern Constillations".

There was another book that was mentioned alot, I found this book on the net as an electronic book (PDF) started reading and has helped me allot.

"Turn Left At Orion

Hope this helps.

Big welcome from me too :p

Me to!! :)

I used to have a scope similar to the one you're talking about (I had an AstroMaster 70AZ), and it was great for me as a beginner. I highly reccomend both Stellarium and Turn Left at Orion, the're both great.

Have fun!!

Dave :)

P.S. I'm the same age as you!! :);)

Hi MaximR, Welcome to SGL. What's the weather like where you live?

Hello there