Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skymax 127 vs Startravel 102

Hi

I'm brand new to the forums and I am looking at getting my first telescope. I was wondering what you guys thought about these 2 telescopes? I have done a bit of research and found that the SkyWatcher Startravel AZ GOTO 102mm Refractor Telescope seems to be a good choice and the other I was considering was the SkyWatcher Skymax 127 AZ GOTO Maksutov Cassegrain Telescope.

Which would you guys recommend?

I would like to observe both wide field views and close ups of planets so i am edging towards the refractor due to the short focal length.

I live in the city so I get a fair amount of light pollution. Which would operate best in light polluted areas? I am new to all this and am very confused. If you choose to respond may I thank you for your help.

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You can get a wide field on the mak as long as you use a long FL eyepiece on it, though you can always get a wider field with the 102.

Personally I'd go for the 127 cause for the extra aperture and to avoid color aberration.

The Startravel series, in my view, try to do the impossible and fail. They are achromatic lenses - a simple inexpensive kind - in which not all colours of light are brought to the same focus. You get fringes of false colour - chromatic aberration - around bright objects. To reduce this, achromatic lenses should be made with long focal length to reduce the problem. The Startravels (to keep them short for travel) are the opposite. They have the kind of short focal length that is only possible to create successfully at very great expense in apochromatic lenses. They all show severe false colour and I would not personally want one to look through. (I have one as a photpgraphic guidescope but that's dfferent.)