Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Power Pack Bargain

daz

Hi Darren,

I'm not an expert in these things but I know a man who is and he suggests that for astro, it is best to choose a lower amp-hour power supply.  Its not what people want to hear but consider that the battery will have come from the automotive industry - usually from a motorbike - so will typically be over-rated for astro use, which isn't a problem in itself but, the batt is designed to take the typical charge/use cycle that it would get when fitted to a bike.  Mostly, they turn a starter motor then receive a charge.  Lower amp-hour batts are also smaller and lighter. 

His advice is to use power packs good and hard and recharge them frequently - they like that.  It is easier to do this with a lower amp-hour battery.  NB: He also points out that you must never run it totally flat as it can buckle the fins inside the battery which is not good! 

With this in mind I bought the Astro Engineering Compact-Astro-Powerstation and am very pleased with it.  Though, as I mentioned elsewhere here, they appear to be difficult to find these days.  (I doubt it will turn up a Makro!). 

Hope that helps,

Steve :)

PS: If buying from somewhere other than an astro supplier, be sure to allow for the cost of a DC lead and be very careful that it has the right polarity!

PSS: It is cheaper to buy the right product first...

Daz,

That one one Ebay is the same model as mine, it's run my LX90 and EQ6 for the last year or so, but as Steve has said you'll need the DC (£6 or so). If you decide to get that pack make sure you get the DC lead from an astro dealer, because if the polarity is wrong you are goosed!

You're still looking at <£30 for the full hit though, so it's pretty cheap.

GAz

Sherwoods do this:

http://www.sherwoods-photo.com/meade_scopes/etx70astro_eng.htm - Is this the one Steve, and I assume that the leads they talk about are the correct ones?

Thanks guys

Darren