Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

SLR Camera's

Good evening All!

I am going to purchase an SLR camera this weekend and have a budget of £400 and was hoping you could all help me decide what would be best to go for!

I have been looking at the Nikon D3000 & Olympus E-450 to give an idea of the spec that I can afford.

I am a newb to the whole hobby and have a Dobsonian 200p that is on the standard wooden base! I know that tracking objects and taking long exposure shots will be near on impossible but imagine that I will still get some nice shots!

I will be using the camera for taking detailed shots of my reef aquarium and so won't be wasting the money!

I know you will all probably suggest getting a tracking mount first but the £400 comes in the form of capital bond vouchers meaning that the camera has to come first!

Any way! let me know what your thoughts are and if I will be able to take any decent pics without tracking!

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You will only be able to take pictures of the Moon. You may also have problems getting the camera to focus as there may not be enough inward travel on the focuser. Someone else who has this model may be able to confirm this. As for the camera I would go for a Canon 1000D or a 450D for imaging as this camera is supported more by the astro community :)

Regards

Kevin

I guess that Astrophotography is not going to be your prime use of the camera then.

I bought an Olympus E-500, and Im delighted with it, and as well as terrestrial imaging, I have used it for lunar pictures too. I always had a thing for Olympus cameras, and own a couple of the OM range too.

If you were leaning more towards astrophotography, then the Canon range is popular, from the 300D to the 1000D. There are more experienced Camera users on SGL, and they will offer their advice to you shortly.

Ron.