Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A break in the clouds last night

andypraktica

Hi folks, this is my first real post, and as I am fairly new to this, these questions are going to sound a bit basic to most of you.

Last night was the first really clear night for a while, so I got out the binoculars, and as Orion was directly in front of our window, I thought I would have a look at the nebula. Well, everything was crystal clear, and Betelgeuse was showing as a definite bright orange disc. Below and to the left (I told you I was new to this!:icon_eek:), Sirius was absolutely stunning, and the moon, now quite high in the sky was showing lots of detail.

However, as I looked left of Sirius (East), on about the same level (bottom third of the sky), I noticed a large salmon pink disc, about the same intensity as Betelgeuse.

Was this a planet, or should I be studying my star maps a bit more thoroughly?

Andy

Hi Mark,

last night I was pretty convinced that it was Mars, but when I had a look at some star/planet positions today (on a couple of sites), they seemed to put Mars at a point to the right of Orion (South or even South West) at 11 in the evening, so that put a lot of doubt in my mind.

Andy

hi.

have you got stellarium,that should tell you what it was,free download.

Hi Jarralad,

How bizarre, I had never heard of Stellarium before today, and only half an hour ago tried to download it. I run Mozilla and it is usually fine with downloads, but this time it kept giving me a warning with the EXE file. I then managed to download it (around 50MB), and according to my programmes list it existed on there. However, the box came up again wanting me to download it again. Anyway, I tried to open it from the "tools - downloads" bar on Mozilla, and an MS Word text document came up.

I was expecting all manner of nice 3D maps and tutorials.

Anyway, I have uninstalled it, and will have another go.

Andy