Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Is aperture king?

PatrickO

I'm a newbie with lunar photography (and astrophotography generally.)

For detailed lunar imaging, i.e. 100-200km,  what are the most important elements of the equipment setup. As the title asks is aperture king?

This is a genuine question as I think about  my own setup.

Edited by PatrickO

Aperture is king. At least up to the point where the atmosphere starts to interfere. Doubling your aperture halves the size of the smallest lunar feature you can see; a 5" scope will resolve about 1 arcsecond which translates to just under 1 mile on the moon. (the wavelength of light also enters into the calculation; these numbers are for green light). Shadow effects can make the minimum visible feature even smaller. Doubling your aperture while keeping the focal length the same has the additional advantage of cutting down the exposure time by 3/4 (see below)

Seeing in the UK puts a limit of 0.5 to 2 arcseconds due to atmospheric turbulence implying that there is no point in having more than 10" of aperture on most occasions for detail. This is generally true for visual observations; very occasionally you can do better but it's single digit number of night in a year where I live.