Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Trouble choosing between a number of lenses

GeoAmy

I currently have a Canon EOS 2000D which so far I only have a kit lens for. I’ve narrowed my next lens down to a few options and was hoping to get an idea of the best options for a total beginner to astrophotography. They are all second hand in order to keep them within my price point (hard max of £200). Thank you in advance! The ones I’m considering are:

• Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II (also an STM variety, unsure of the difference)

• Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

• Canon EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM (also a 40mm EF mount variety)

• Canon EF 20mm f/2.8 USM (also a 100mm variety)

• Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

• Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

• Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC

• Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM

• Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 DC HSM

• Sigma 50mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM

• Samyang 16mm f/2 ED AS UMC CS

• Samyang 14mm f/2.8 ED AS IF UMC

• Samyang 14mm T/3.1 ED AS IF UMC II

• Samyang 24mm T/1.5 VDSLR ED AS IF UMC II

• Samyang 16mm T/2.2 ED AS UMC CS

Out of all of them the one which crops up time and time again for widefield AP is the Samyang 14mm. The two in your list, one is the photographic one, the T stop one is for videography so clickless aperture stops but similar if not the same lens. Wider lens means shallower depth of field so easier to focus, and can take longer exposure before star trailing. If you want to use it in an urban setting though I wouldn't recommend it, the lens is too curved and will overexpose from stray light sources before your fov does.