Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello to all...My first thread, and first question.

I apologize that this is another 'which telescope do you recommend' post. :)

I’m very new to astronomy, but highly interested by the hobby, and I’m already hooked. I have (and am currently reading) a few good beginner astronomy books I was recommended to read first. I’ve been studying star maps and have already purchased some 10x50 binos.

So I’m now very close to buying my first scope, but am a bit stuck on choice, as I have some awkward problems at my home for viewing.

I only have a back 'yard', not a garden, so I’m very limited for space. And as houses are in the way, I don’t think I will be able to polar aline etc properly?

I do live near the sea/beach, which will be great for some viewing sessions...but mostly I will be looking at doing it in my 'box' of a yard!

Does anyone else have these problems to, and how much will it limit me?

At the moment I really like the following scopes;

Maksutov - Skywatcher Skymax 127 (EQ3-2)

Dobsonians - Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian

Reflectors - Skywatcher Explorer 150P EQ3-2

Advanced Series GOTO - Celestron Advanced C6-N GT (GOTO)

Quite a wide choice! Im mostly interested in deep sky viewing, but with fairly ease of use and set up (as im very new)!

I don’t have great storage capacity for the scope either, so don’t want something to bulky (what put my off a larger dob), which is why I thought the Maksutov would be better suited?

I really want to get involved in astronomy, but don’t want to have to limit my viewing too much, because i have to get a small aperture scope.

Any help/advice much appreciated!

(Sorry I dragged this post on and on....it is my first here :))

From a personal viewpoint, and considering the limited space you have, I would go for simplicity, coupled with light gathering power, so my choice would be the Dobsonian Scope. No need to concern yourself with polar alignment with a Dob.