NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

I learnt a lesson tonight

Samop

I'm very new at this astronomy game and still not totally comfortable with how to drive my telescope and mount. I've just got an RA motor but haven't used it yet.

So I came home at around 11pm and saw Jupiter shining brightly and thought "wow, I'v got to have a look..."

I took me ages to get the telescope set up in the dark, probably nowhere near polar aligned. I couldn't work out how to actuallly point the 'scope with the RA motor attached; everything got wet with the condensation and I got a back ache leaning over the scope trying to see anything. I didn't get to see anything before I gave up

So what I learned was... unless I'm really confident with setting up and aligning don't try an improptu session... it'll just depress me.

I'm going to bed now.

• Like 2

6 hours ago, Samop said:

I'm very new at this astronomy game and still not totally comfortable with how to drive my telescope and mount. I've just got an RA motor but haven't used it yet.

So I came home at around 11pm and saw Jupiter shining brightly and thought "wow, I'v got to have a look..."

I took me ages to get the telescope set up in the dark, probably nowhere near polar aligned. I couldn't work out how to actuallly point the 'scope with the RA motor attached; everything got wet with the condensation and I got a back ache leaning over the scope trying to see anything. I didn't get to see anything before I gave up

So what I learned was... unless I'm really confident with setting up and aligning don't try an improptu session... it'll just depress me.

I'm going to bed now.