Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I seem to recall that we have discussed Dubhe / Alpha Ursae Majoris sometime in the past ?

It is a double star and seems to be considered to be a really tough one to split. According to Stelle Doppie the brighter component is magnitude 2.02 and the fainter one magnitude 4.95. Add to that a separation of just .81 arc seconds and we have a challenge for most scopes I think 😬

Despite Dubhe being rather low tonight, the seeing was very steady so I had a look with my 130mm F/9.2 refractor. I was not hopeful of getting a clear split of this pair but I thought it might be possible to see some indications of elongation. I had not researched the position angle of the pair so I think I went into this with a reasonably open mind. 

I gradually ramped up the magnification through 300x, 400x and found a "sweet spot" image of the star tonight at 480x. I studied the star for a good 30 minutes and during the most settled moments of seeing I was consistently detecting a bulge on the side of the airy disk of the brighter star. Sometimes this took the form of a brightening / thickening at one point in the 1st diffraction ring. At other times more of a "lump" which appeared to be stuck on the side of the airy disk.

As I became more certain that I was seeing something over and over, I made a quick & dirty sketch of a heavily enlarged airy disk with the position of the lump / bulge shown. My estimated position angle for the centre of this "feature" was around 330 degrees or on the north west side of the main star.

Once the sketch was made I consulted the sources / references that I could find on the web (including the Stelle Doppie database) and found that my PA estimate was in the right ball park for the secondary star of the Dubhe pair. 

Not a split or resolution of course but perhaps a fair indication that this is indeed a very close double star.