Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from Italy (and Switzerland)

radiofm74

Hello everyone!

I've been stargazing since January 2021, and imaging since January 2022. Both sides of the hobby are important to me and I also like sketching (if only I were a little better at that ;D). I am a city dweller living between Milano (Bortle 9 or whatever is the definition of "worse skies around") and Lausanne (a much more decent Bortle 6) but I escape to rural skies whenever I have the occasion. It is not entirely a coincidence that my favorite gear is very portable… my faithful Vixen Advanced Polaris, Vixen 3" ED (SD81S), my C6, my recently purchased AsiAir, a bunch of light Baader eyepieces, my own naked eyes… But I also enjoy observing from my balcony in Milano with a bigger GoTo mount, hunting lunar features, planets and doubles.

I've been an active member of CN for quite some time now, but I've long been lurking this forum and thought it was about time I'd start contributing here too!

Clear skies to you all!

spacer.png

• Like 6

Hello from Sweden where I live now, but ciao from Ticino (born and raised) 😁

I did not know that Lausanne has such "good" (lol) skies, is this in the middle of the city or from the hills surrounding it?

I lived in Geneva for 5 years but this was way before I started stargazing, so I don't really remember much. I did my military on the hills North of Lausanne (Bière, above Morges/Aubonnes) and the stars were very nice during the long nights out. But that was probably Bortle 4, I wish I had my binoculars then 😍

Welcome!

• Like 1

45 minutes ago, SwiMatt said:

Hello from Sweden where I live now, but ciao from Ticino (born and raised) 😁

I did not know that Lausanne has such "good" (lol) skies, is this in the middle of the city or from the hills surrounding it?