Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What telescope should I buy?

Hi, this is the first time I'm actually buying a telescope, so I'm an amateur. 

I was looking to buy a Dobsonian telescope, but I don't really know which of these should I buy... a 200/1200 or the 250/1200. I mean I saved some money and right now I don't know If I should pay more money for 250p because I don't know How big is difference between 200p and 250p.

Let's say that I want to save money so which one do you guys recommend?

If you can get to see them in person, that'll give you a better idea for storage, moving around and using. Generally the larger aperture you can afford the better.

• Like 1

5 minutes ago, nikooo said:

Hi, this is the first time I'm actually buying a telescope, so I'm an amateur. 

I was looking to buy a Dobsonian telescope, but I don't really know which of these should I buy... a 200/1200 or the 250/1200. I mean I saved some money and right now I don't know If I should pay more money for 250p because I don't know How big is difference between 200p and 250p.

Let's say that I want to save money so which one do you guys recommend?

A lot to consider but the biggest consideration from my own experience is portability.  If you are able bodied, you will have no problem with either but it needs considering. A 250 is about 30% heavier than a 200.

If you are able bodied, are comfortable with the weight and lunking around then a 250 will serve you for very many years (subject to you not getting afflicted with aperture fever)

However there is nothing wrong with the 200 and the F6 focal ratio  is more forgiving on lower cost eyepieces and as far as I can gather many people stick with these for life, they are the bast selling size of dobsonian.  FYI most 250 are F4.8 - F5.