Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Viewing Mars

Hi guy's and girls

I'm a complete newbie.  I've purchased the skywatcher 130 heritage, i managed to get some amazing views of the moon last night with it but when i try to view mars it appears as a bright star not sure whether i was expecting more or I'm using the incorrect eyepiece? 

Any advised would be appreciated 

Thanks,

Billy

Billy - Mars can be a bit of a let-down compared with the Moon.  At first, you will probably just see a bright red object, bigger than a star.  With practice, you can make out some shading, or even an ice-cap. Depends on conditions and how close Mars is to Earth.  You can increase the mag and make it a little bit larger and less bright.  Keep trying and practising is the best advice I can give.

Doug.

Edited by cloudsweeper
  • Like 2

Hi Billy i second what Doug has written ... i viewed Mars last night with an 8" dobsonian and only just made out some surface shading ... The planet is fading in magnitude quite quickly now and, even at its best , visually, it can be a let down . In fact Mars is a planet that you have to view for quite sometime before it gives you too much in return . Don't be too hard on yourself or the equipment .. it really is  difficult  to observe . 

Stu

Hi Billy,