Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

CEM40 OR CEM40 EC

space3

Hello everyone 

I'm going to upgrade from  CGEM 

And looking to buy a Ioptron Cem 40, I have been talking to FLO,

But I want to get some opinions on it before I decide, I have been scrolling here and on cloudy nights, but I'm no further on.

What I want the mount for is to run my 100mm Esprit, I want to take unguided images, even 2 minutes would be awsome, my CGEM cannot do this,

But will the non EC version give me this or will the EC version be a better buy for unguided images, 

I haven't got a permanent set up, and this is why I'm doing it unguided, at some point in the future this will change but for now I want to achieve unguided images, 

So any input would be great, many thanks 

Derek 

Hi Derek,

I am studying the same question.  I don't have any experience with either CEM40s but do like my CEM26.

So far am leaning towards the non EC version.  Based on reading a lot of discussions:

It seems that the iOptron implementation of encoders has / had a problem related to SDE.

It also seems that the encoders cannot be turned off.

So £1,000 more for what may be a disappointment and ongoing problem is not good.

I am thinking to buy the non EC version and use Guiding if I need it.

From what I read about non EC or ec a lot of people who bought the ec versions had regret because something to do with the guiding error cannot be improved upon with the EC versions and not having the option of disabling the encoders. I have a non EC gem28 and it works fine though I do autoguide, typical RMS around 0.4-0.5 at 200mm guide focal length without tweaking with any parameters.

Edited by Elp

I have a tripod mounted (portable) CEM25-EC which I have used unguided with Samyang 135 and RedCat 51 with exposure up to 300 s with no problems at all.