Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Do you think there will be new types of scope or eyepiece technology soon?

Hi all,

Fairly random post just opening up some discussion whilst we have some cloudy skies. I'm very new to the proper side of telescopes and astronomy, having bought my 8" dob as a first real telescope about 3 weeks ago. What I've seemed to notice (although correct me if I'm completely wrong) is that most of the equipment that is quality and recommended has been around for years and years. I suppose when it comes to something as fundamental as gathering and focusing visible light there is only so much you can do. One thing that does come to mind is that crazily overpriced stellina. That live stacking integrated into the telescope is something that seems relatively new and is the kind of thing I'm talking about, besides all the flaws it has. Do you guys think there will be new types of telescope or eyepieces anytime soon that are different from upgrading existing designs, or are we just at the limit of the physics?

• Like 2

I think there will continue to be progress. I haven't seen an amateur setup with adaptive optics yet. There are continuous improvements in software and automation. Also, the sorts of equipment which a reasonably well equipped amateur can afford today would have been astonishingly expensive 20 or 30 years ago.

• Like 1

I can see stellina and other smart scopes like that becoming more and more common as time goes on. Just needs to drop more than half of the pricetag to be viable for more folks but thats a question of when rather than if since the individual parts to make such a scope are nothing new or special.

I would also imagine that the same kind of tech would make its way onto visual scopes in the form of some kind of plate solving auto pointing system (like Celestron starsense?).

• Like 2