Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

M42 widefield

Phillyo

Managed to actually get out for 2 nights on the trot and stack up around 9 hours or so of data on the Orion Nebula, including horse head nebula. There's SO much going on in this area that trying to do DBE is fun avoiding the dusty nebula.

This is my first try imaging this very famous nebula and I'm quite happy with the result so far. My skills in pixinsight still need to improve, and I might try and add even more data...or do a mosaic of the area?

Capture was the ASI533, Samyang 135, Antlia 5nm dual band filter on my EQ6-R Pro, guided with the ASI120mm Mini. Captured in NINA and processed in Pixinsight.

Thanks for looking. Comments/criticism very welcome!
Phil

starless.png

Image444.png

• Like 37
  • Thanks 1

3 hours ago, Phillyo said:

Just curious, would adding RGB data to this help to improve it? If I were to extract the Ha data and use that as a luminance layer, or maybe add it as the red layer?

Phil

Starmask and replace wirh RGB stars would be nice. 

You could to a HaRGB, but be careful it doesn't end up too pink. That might give you more "colour" and interest in the M42 / IC434 regions

But that is a cracking image and yeah I bet DBE was a PITA to do on this.

I am guessing this the 135mm that this is a single shot and not a mosaic ? 

3 minutes ago, Catanonia said:

Starmask and replace wirh RGB stars would be nice. 

You could to a HaRGB, but be careful it doesn't end up too pink. That might give you more "colour" and interest in the M42 / IC434 regions

But that is a cracking image and yeah I bet DBE was a PITA to do on this.

I am guessing this the 135mm that this is a single shot and not a mosaic ? 

Yeah I was thinking RGB stars might be nice? I might give it a go and see how I do.