Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Redcat 51 ASI224mc Back Focus Spacers? Filter?

I'm about to order a Redcat 51 and a ASI224mc and i'm just wondering if I'll need spacers and if so what ones exactly. Im very new to this and this will be my first refractor and astrocam.

Also will I need a filter? I like in bortle 5 skies and I plan to try my hand at emission nebulae and of course planetary with this cam although it will mostly be used as a guide cam as I'll be using my unmodded nikon most the time.

5 hours ago, Lilac_dust said:

I'm about to order a Redcat 51 and a ASI224mc and i'm just wondering if I'll need spacers and if so what ones exactly. Im very new to this and this will be my first refractor and astrocam.

Also will I need a filter? I like in bortle 5 skies and I plan to try my hand at emission nebulae and of course planetary with this cam although it will mostly be used as a guide cam as I'll be using my unmodded nikon most the time.

The 224 isnt really ideal to use for deep space AP so i'd stick to the Nikon for that. As for filters, there's a whole array of them & all depends on your budget. I use the Optolong L-eXtreme dual NB filter for emission Nebulas & it works very well, its also good for dealing with light pollution & nights when the Moon is up. Other than that I'd recommend buying a UV/IR cut filter (not needed when your using a Dual NB (Narrow Band) filter though). It will tame star bloat that can occur with bright stars.

Edited by nephilim

10 minutes ago, nephilim said: