Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Sodium Vapour Light

Newbie here!

Used to have a star travel a while back.  Slowly getting back into stargazing.  

I live in a Bortle 4 area and the sky is beautiful, except a sodium vapour light just next to my house (unfortunately its on all night due to a Cross junction and a railway crossing) which spills light onto my garden and patio.  

Will using a light pollution filter help filtering the light out?  

A filter will have a very limited effect but it may provide some protection. Much better would be to speak to your local council and ask them to fit a shield to the street lamp. You will probably be surprised how cooperative they will be. If you can reduce the light reaching your garden and use a lp filter it will be a huge help

• Like 1

+1 for @Jiggy 67 advice.

Is the light an 'orange' low pressure or a pink high pressure?

The orange light is all but a single wavelength and easy to filter. The high pressure contains multiple wavelengths and is more awkard.

This is something I took some years ago when subjected to orange sodium, with and without a pollution filter.

Good luck with your request for reducing 'light trespass', 'nuisance' and 'pollution'. Those are the key words if 'please' gets ignored.

Kirton LP.jpg

• Like 2

On 17/07/2021 at 10:07, ispookie666 said:

Emailed the council's street lighting section. I'm not holding much hope.

You may be pleasantly surprised. I recall seeing a couple of posts this year where the council has responded positively.

• Like 1

More than ten years ago I sent a photo of an orange sky to the councillor, responsible for the ground below, pointing out this was taxpayers money and CO2 emissions.
Did they think it was a good thing to do?
I might as well have sent the mathematical proof of the 3 body problem.

At a similar time I wrote to the council highways lighting dept. about how their new scheme replacing lamp posts was ill considered.