Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Canon 650D Amp Glow

Hi all, after a bit of advice...

I've been using my 650D for 2 years in total and had it modified at the start of this year. I've had absolutely no issues with amp glow until this week, when I added a battery grip to allow more imaging time in one night. This is the only thing I've changed in the setup and can only assume it's the culprit. It's the genuine Canon battery grip but one of the batteries isn't. 

Anybody had this issue with battery grips before? I'll be very disappointed to revert back to just one battery. I'd considered a dummy battery with dew heater, but my controller is only 9 months old and I got the battery grip from CameraJungle second hand for £35, which seemed like a bargain. 

edit: I've added an image for info. This is with one curve stretch applied in Photoshop. The glow is in the bottom left, and my images from last night have the exact same issue.

Thanks

Nick

Gradient Issue.jpg

Edited by AstroExploring
Added image

A dummy battery  and external supply is probably the best way to go, you can make your own using a buck converter with 12volt supply regulated to 7 point something volts from memory.

You can always sell the battery grip to a " normal " tog.

Dave

26 minutes ago, Davey-T said:

A dummy battery  and external supply is probably the best way to go, you can make your own using a buck converter with 12volt supply regulated to 7 point something volts from memory.

You can always sell the battery grip to a " normal " tog.

Dave

Thanks Dave, I think that's probably the answer but I was hoping to avoid it if possible.

5 minutes ago, david_taurus83 said:

Is the glow in a dark frame? If so then its electronic, if not, a light leak most likely.

Yes the glow is in a dark frame too

I have the 650D but don't use it for astro. I bought this dummy battery and power supply https://www.amazon.co.uk/ACK-E8-Adapter-Replacement-Supply-Cameras/dp/B01HJLT4YU