Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie Alert! - Help with locating objects....

Hello!

First of all, please forgive my ignorance as i am totally new to this, having had a telescope for Christmas. (Based on the fact im always chatting about aliens, space blah blah blah after a few beers :) )

When i opened the telescope, i was totally confussed, didnt have a clue about the equatorial mount or what anything actually did!!

After almost 2 solid days of reading, researching and basically trial and error, i think i understand how it works, i've balanced the mount, and i know how to align it with Polaris. (although i have not done this yet)

Now, i understand if done correctly, then i should be able to use the 'dials' to locate other objects in the sky - however, i have read before doing this that i will have to locate another star (other than Polaris), and use the co-ordinates from that star, to find others.

This may be a very stupid question, but why cant I just use the coordinates from Polaris to find other objects? (i.e. 02h 43m 30.308s Dec: +89°18'27.286)

I have a 'program' with the telescope that gives me all the coordinates i will need for planets/stars, and obviously as time goes on i will realise that its easier/better to use other stars as pointers, but for now, can i use Polaris??

The reason i ask is because i just know that if i have to find another star, and THEN find the coordinates of it, i will fail miserably! lol

Any help or info is much appreciated

Many thanks in advance :p

Hello Evo

Sounds like you have some sort of EQ mount. So you are correct in saying by finding another star you are increasing the accuracy of your mount.

Find the brightest star in the sky and see if you can match the constellations and find it using Stellarium.