Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First DSO with 72ED

Hey everyone

Up until now I've been using my Star Adventurer and taken a few reasonable images until my lens fogged up and I had to pack up and come back inside. Santa was kind to me this year and got me a second-hand HEQ5, 72ED, flattener/reducer & dew strap with controller. Somehow the clouds managed to stay away for a couple of hours yesterday evening and I was able to test it all out. Below is my final stacked image of Andromeda using:

50x 2-minute exposures

25x darks

30x flats

50x bias

It's my first time using flats and bias, I'm not sure the flats came out right but I'll keep experimenting should we ever get some nice weather again! I'm really pleased with the final image but think my Photoshop skills need to significantly imrpove.

Cheers

Nick

Final Image(1).jpg

• Like 17

That's a fantastic pic ! I'd be proper chuffed with that as my first image with new gear.

I'm a novice but learning about this stuff is all part of the fun (and occasionally frustration too !). I'm sure you’ll learn a few little photoshop tricks over time but tbh I think you've done a really good job with this already !

1 minute ago, Spaced Out said:

That's a fantastic pic ! I'd be proper chuffed with that as my first image with new gear.

I'm a novice but learning about this stuff is all part of the fun (and occasionally frustration too !). I'm sure you’ll learn a few little photoshop tricks over time but tbh I think you've done a really good job with this already !