Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Calling all Mesu users; advice needed

MakeItSo

Hi Folks, 

Thanks for reading. 

I am upgrading my mount for my observatory. I will be doing AP primarily but to be honest,  I also enjoy some visual.  I need about 30-40kg capacity. I had my heart set on the ridiculously expensive 10 Micron 2000 (coming in a about 12k when you figure all the extras needed). Something seemed wrong about that price....!

I now have an opportunity to get a Mesu 200 Mark II. The mounts engineering looks unquestionable and I have yet to hear anything bad said about these mounts. The price is also very attractive compared to the 10 Micron. My issue is the control. I’m going to be honest - the controller looks rudimentary (and with no screen, controlling from the computer for visual may be annoying). I have no knowledge of Sidereal technology at all. I am very close to purchasing this mount but I would like some feedback on user experience regarding the software and control of the mount. I note the new version will have the Scitech I controller but I thought (perhaps incorrectly that the older version has the II controller). I am not sure if this is significant or not. 

Opinions and feedback greatly appreciated. 

Simon

1 minute ago, Dr_Ju_ju said:

That's a silly question, go for it, IF there are any limitations with its control, come back here & I'm sure other members will put you right......

Not a silly question at all...

Simply a query; research and user experience are two different things. My research tells me this mount is superb but I’d like to hear about user experience with the software