NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

tips for setting up on site

hello

not sure if this is the right place for this topic.?

wanted some advice on how to set up equipment fast in the dark sky sites.

colimation, polar alignment, mounting up etc

takes a long time to do all these things ?

the things we have are polarmaster, neq6 , 250mm gso f4 newtonian reflector, dslr and laptop

we take a car battery to power up stuff .

some things we do are aligning the finder scope and guideing scope in advance.

Hi nova 

im new to this myself and every night even on cloudy ones I go into my garden and do a complete set up including laptop and cameras just so I get used to doing it ,so when we do finally get a clear night I know how it all goes and how long it should take even with cold fingers. In other words practice makes perfect .

happy hunting 

2 hours ago, Nova2000 said:

hello

not sure if this is the right place for this topic.?

wanted some advice on how to set up equipment fast in the dark sky sites.

colimation, polar alignment, mounting up etc

takes a long time to do all these things ?

the things we have are polarmaster, neq6 , 250mm gso f4 newtonian reflector, dslr and laptop

we take a car battery to power up stuff .

some things we do are aligning the finder scope and guideing scope in advance.

My fast setup routine:

1) Turn on Smart-phone with compass app 5min before and keep it on in the pocket (to allow sensors to adjust themselves while moving around);

2) Once all toys are brought to the site, use smart-phone app to setup tripod roughly North, - leveling after.

3) Lazer collimator In, to check primary mirror collimation.

4) Cables and "toys" on top, - balancing

5) SharpCap On, - bathtinov aid to focus.

6) SharpCap - Polar Alignment routine as initial.

7) PHD2 drift alignment to pinpoint PA.

8 ) PHD2 Calibration.

9 ) SGP On - shooting.

Absolutely right Fieldsy!!