NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Workflow.

I seem to be having problems lately getting everything to work.

What is the correct pattern/Workflow for connecting the following?

NEQ6PRO mount

Eqmod with eqdir cable (also use this for PA)

Starshoot Autoguider with cable to mount

Qhy8l camera

Ezcap

Phd2

Cartes du ciel.

Cheers for looking/help

Stu

Plug in everything.

Start all the software.

Close/open unplug/plug in things at random.

When it works stop fiddling.

That's how I do it...

Seriously, I'm commenting because I'm interested in the answer although I have a slightly different list that includes APT, EQmod, PHD2 and Cartes du Ciel.

I really am working at random at the moment, so looking over your shoulder at some advice on the most stable order would be welcome.

I am no expert but this is what I do:

• Take the mount, scope and box containing the power supply, NUC, focus unit and dew heaters outside.
  • Connect everything up making sure I always connect mount/camera/focusser/filter wheel to the same usb port - everytime.
  • Connect the network cable to the hub inside the study - via a convenient hole in the wall.
  • Switch on the mains power and power up the mount and NUC.
  • Polar align using the polarscope and my iPhone app - and right eyeball.
  • Come inside and connect using Remote Desktop to the NUC from my laptop.
  • Start EQMOD and connect to the mount and 'unpark'
  • Start CdC and connect to the scope/mount; make sure I am using Equatorial coordinates and J2000.
  • Start Artemis (Atik software) and track to nearby, easily identifiable, star; nudge to bring star to the centre and fix with CdC.
  • Start focussing software and carry out my initial focus by aiming to achieve the lowest FWHM figure I can get.
  • Track to another easily identifiable star on my way to my initial target; nudge again to bring star to the centre of the image and fix with CdC