NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

PHD2 help

Hi All,

I do have two questions but i'll separate them in to two thread just so the questions don't get side tracked and might even help someone in the future if they're looking for specific answer.

So basically i'm a super beginner in the world of PHD and i must admit i'm getting the hang of the software. (Is it just me or does anyone keep an eye on the graph religiously like i've always done. MaximDL before and now PHD2)

Before i ask, i have to set up and tear down my kit every time so the location of my setup can be a few feet away every time.

First question: How of often should one calibrate PHD2? (assuming i'm imaging the same target over a couple of nights apart and slew to a different target). Is it always a necessary thing to calibrate at DEC0 in the south? If it's not necessary to calibrate, how can you skip PHD2 to calibrate? Last night i hit "Connect > Loop > Green guide button" and it still calibrated but the calibration happened where my object was for the night.

Second Question: I often get PHD2 star loss message, but PHD2 doesn't automatically choose a new star. In fact i have to manually do the "ALT+S" to find a new guide star

Third Question: The last three times when i've started using PHD2, the view window where the stars show up nice and sharp at say 2s exposure, then at some point out of no where the stars go away and if i drop to 1.5s, the stars show up again and guiding starts fine, then push it back up to 2s and stars are fine again. But i keep having to drop from 2s all the way down to 1s. Is there a way to make PHD2 change the exposures without me having to do that?

Sorry if these question sound quite noobish but i'm only just learning my ways around this software.

Thanks in advance

Hi