Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

spider in the way

I wonder if anyone can advise me . I am a beginner but have been reading as much as possible before deciding on another scope.I have ,which was given as a present a 76mm reflector. I dont think when i first got it and was looking at the moon the mounting for the secondary mirror was so visible it is such a nuisance as it is now .I can see a central blob and 3 I think there called diffraction spikes on any bright star or planet . I have been looking at Jupiter but no hope of seeing anything but the spider! I have seen an article on colimation but dont think it needs it as the spider is central with no bits missing . I have tried altering the focus and magnification. Sorry to drone on ! Thanks. :)

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Howdy and welcome to SGL. This sounds very strange, are you sure the you have the telescope focused correctly? The reason I ask is that you should not be able to see the secondary / spider at all. I can only see the secondary in my newt when the focusing is waaaaayyyyy off!

I cant offer much more advice on this but I'm sure there will be others along soon to offer their help...... :-)

Gary

The diffraction spikes on bright stars are normal for a reflector - they are caused by the spider vanes. Seeing the central part of the spider, ie: the bit that holds the small secondary mirror in place, means that the scope is not in proper focus as Gary says - it dissapears when sharp focus is reached. What eyepiece are you using with the scope ?

John

Hi John , I have 20mm 12.5mm and 4mm I have tried then all to see if this helps , Apart from turning the focus wheel is there another way? Thanks

The only thing that I can think is that something is stopping the scope getting to sharp focus - check that the eyepieces are inserted fully into the focusser, ie: that there is no chrome barrel showing.