Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Beginner EPs to put on my Christmas list

I have a Celestron Astromaster refractor with an 80mm aperture, FL of 910mm and an FR of 11.3.

Over the past year, my daughter and I have been getting to grips with our telescope – using the supplied 10mm and 20mm lenses to watch the planets.

Now we’d like to up our game. Since it’s Christmas, I can probably ask family to chip in for an eyepiece or two for us. Our budget is probably quite low, but I suspect almost anything will be an upgrade on the standard lenses that we currently have.

So, I’d be really grateful for recommendations on lenses to ask for, to achieve our two spotting goals for 2018:

- Messier objects - 

We’d like to start working through the Messier list. Can you recommend a wide-field eyepiece with decent eye relief (I wear specs) that would work well with our scope? 

- More magnification -

Fellow forummers have kindly recommended the following three lenses to us in the past to get more detailed planetary views. I suspect all three would be good options for us, with the Starguider the most affordable, but are there any other particularly good deals we should be looking at at the moment? 

• 8mm BST Explorer ‘Starguider’ ED eyepiece 
  • 6mm William Optics SPL eyepiece 
  • 7mm Celestron X-Cel LX eyepiece

Thank you for reading!

The bst explorer eyepieces are great eyepieces for their value, and many members of this forum would recommend them, so I wouldn't either.

As for widefield eyepiece, then skywatcher make some good budget ones such as the SWA 70 degree and explorer scientific also have a great set of eyepieces, and if you want some eyepieces that will also be your best friend in 10-20 years then I would recommend the 68 degree version, or the newer version of the 68 degree, the 82 degree eyepieces which is also more expansive.

I hope that you'll find what you're looking for, and I am sure som other members on here will help you out as well.