Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help on stacking

Xen0n

Hi all.

Yesterday, I eventually managed to get my tracking to work. It's my first attempt at astrophotography.

I had good hopes to get a decent shot of Pacman Nebula (NGC 281) as APT showed me a pretty good image in preview (so I guessed that stacking 20 of them and a few blacks could only give better results):

APT.thumb.PNG.8fc5ac428d6eba4fdf18cb4395949009.PNG

The imaging sessions is:

- 20 RAW 120 seconds shots at 1600 ISO

- 4 Blacks with identical settings

The hardware is a Skywatcher 130/650 on a motorized EQ6 with camera guiding.

But the result after stacking them is quite disappointing (lightened result - original TIF added to the post):

Stacked.thumb.PNG.dfe8345943ff2f311738959e206f370b.PNG

I tried the following method to filter out pollution:

http://www.skyandtelescope.com/astronomy-resources/astrophotography-tips/remove-light-pollution-astro-images/

But the result is not even close to what APT gave me on a single shot:

Photoshopped.thumb.PNG.f12b05738c2a66abff5019c44679e13a.PNG

I did this session in my backyard, the light pollution is quite high. I'm using a de-filtered 1000D without light pollution filter (on my list of stuffs to buy).

Would someone have advises for me to get a result which is closer to what APT gave me but improved with the stacking process?

Thanks in advance.

Pacman.TIF

Welcome to the forum, Xen0n.

Here's my attempt with PixInsight:

2 passes of DBE to get rid of most of the vignetting and gradient

Background neutralisation & Colour calibration

Masked stretch

Curvestransformation + colour saturation

Star reduction

Noise reduction

Pacman.thumb.jpg.7f4be88967302c401ebbafee1958c519.jpg

(click to enlarge)

To properly remove the vignetting, you do need to add flats to the calibration frames. The strong red colour in the integrated image is due to light pollution and very likely an effect of your modified camera.