Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Fitting a Baader Hyperion on a Olympus camera with Micro 4/3 mount

Mikkel

Here's a question from a happy astro-amateur from Denmark.

I currently own a Sky-Watcher Explorer 130/900 and I think about making a setup with that and my Olympus OMD E-M10 MKII for some astrophotography. The camera has a micro 4/3 lens mount. I have been using my scope for a couple of years though I'm very experienced but I am a complete novice when it comes to AP. 
I've read good reviews of the Baader Hyperion eyepieces and think that a 21mm would be nice and it has M43 and T2 photo threads.
So my questions are these:

1. How do I fit the camera on the eyepiece (adapter or not)?

2. Is the Baader Hyperion a good choice?

3. What will fitting the eyepiece to the camera do to the focal length of the eyepiece (should I go with another focal length)?

I know this is a lot and quite equipment specific, but hopefully someone has an opinion. :-) Thank you so much.

Mikkel

Hi Mikkel

I'm no expert in AP either, but from time to time I do use an Olympus OMD EM5 ii camera with my refractors.

My usual setup is a micro four-thirds to T2 adapter on the camera, fitted with either a 1.25" or 2" nosepiece to fit the focuser on the scope.  There seem to be at least two versions of M4/3 T adapter available and, as I understand it, which type you need will depend on the degree of back focus available on your scope.  There's an example here:

http://www.365astronomy.com/T-Ring-Micro-Four-Thirds-T2-Lens-Adapter-Ring-for-Micro-4-3-dSLR-Cameras-WITHOUT-EXTENSION.html