Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Messier 4 and Sh 2-9 in Scorpius

gnomus

I recently purchased AstroPixel Processor (APP).  I had been playing around with the trial version (which is fully functional as far as I am aware), but this is my first attempt with the purchased product.  APP was used for calibration, registering and stacking the subs.  I then combined the RGB in APP.  And finally I used APP's Background Calibration and Star Calibration tools.  I was very pleased with the results I got from these last two - I had spent some time in PI trying to get good colour, and just could not get rid of a very 'muddy' look. 

I then took the linear stacks (and RGB combo) into PI for further work, LRGB combination and so forth. 

This is data from the DSW Tak 106/QSI 683 rig:

• Lum: 21 x 600s
  • Red: 12 x 600s
  • Green: 17 x 600s
  • Blue: 17 x 600s
  • Ha: 9 x 1800s

A total of 15 hours and 40 mins exposure

09_M4_FINALx1920.thumb.jpg.c31523ab17b4ba6e052eaa5eb907e91d.jpg

That's a great image Gnomus, I'm no expert but this particular FOV would seem to be a very good test for any Astro image processing software.

I'm currently struggling to process LRGB subs with a combination of DSS, Moravian SIPS and Star tools. 

Is there much to choose between APP and PI? I do find the workflow in Startools quite intuitive, and I got (by my standards) some half decent results with OSC data, but  recent experience is telling me my next AP purchase should be one or the other for LRGB processing.

Steve

2 minutes ago, tomato said:

That's a great image Gnomus, I'm no expert but this particular FOV would seem to be a very good test for any Astro image processing software.

I'm currently struggling to process LRGB subs with a combination of DSS, Moravian SIPS and Star tools.