SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Polar alignment for astrophotography

I am in the planning stages for astrophotography, aka total beginner, so hoping this doesn't sound stupid. I have a Celestron AVX equatorial mount, which does have the All-Star polar alignment thing, that says it is "accurate enough for short exposure prime focus planetary imaging (a couple of seconds) and short exposure piggyback astroimaging (a couple of minutes)." From what I have read, you kind of have to be able to align on Polaris to be accurate for astrophotography. The problem is that in my backyard, the north is completely blocked by trees. How would I go about getting proper alignment? Is the Celestron Starsense any good or would it even solve the problem? Someone in another thread of mine also said an autoguider is necessary so that is on my list also.

Without knowing a great deal, visual only in reality, the option open to you is Drift Alignment.

Now the process is a bit convoluted and I have no idea on the details. At a guess (total) you would set the mount up level (not necessary but maybe essential in this case), then set the latitude - if using the dial on the mount then the level of the mount is essential. Then aim the mount North - true North not magnetic North as there is likely a few degrees difference. All this is aligning the mount, not the scope.

Then I have to drop out and leave you to get the details of drift alignment. As people do it fairly often in the imaging I guess it sounds worse then it is and is likely a case of performing 3 or 4 iterations to get it complete.

Starsense is as best I know for the goto alignment which relates to the scope, not the mount. It might help but all I ever read is of "problems with Strarsense".  There seems to be some almost magical way of doing things. Considering I can do a manual alignment for goto on my scopes in 2 or 3 minutes I cannot quite see why people bother.