Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Continue learning PS or invest in PixInsight?

Hi all!

I'm pretty new to astrophotography.  Before I started I had never used any image processing software. I currently use photoshop but I'm very very basic in it so far. So I started to wonder what software is best to learn before I invest time and money in addons such as GradientXterminator and Astronomy Tools Action Set? Which one is the most potent and easy to learn considering no previous knowledge? Since Photoshop is subscription based i guess PixInsight is cheaper with time but its still a lot of money and I'd like to hear peoples thoughts about it before deciding :) 

/Tobias

I'm a PixInsight user, think its fantastic, many tools to be mastered (or at least to become competent on) so an endless journey of experiment and learning - great fun :-)

David

I don't believe the best option is to pick *either* PI or PS. They both excel in very different things, my image processing work-flow relies on being able to pick and choose processes and actions in which bit of software does it best. There is no one stop shop in my opinion I'm afraid. If you're serious about imaging, be prepared to use both.

Iv'e had PS around 4 years and love it for my general photography.

Within a few weeks of starting AP i had purchased Noels astronomy tools plugin, GradientxTerminator and the free HLVG, within another 2 months i had the trial version of PI, within a week i'd bought it, not sure what that says about me but i love PI.

My partner bought me the Warren Keller book "Inside Pixinsight" now i love PI even more. I still use PS but very, very rarely for my AP.