NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Newbie Viewing Saturns Rings

Hey!

I'm pretty new to astronomy, but my main goal is to see the rings of Saturn with my own eyes.

I was wondering what I would need as a minimum setup to achieve this? I'm not looking for incredible clarity, just to be able to make out the shape of the rings from the planet itself.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Phil

be a bit tricky this time of year mate, with saturn in the twilight and all.

not 100% sure but the rings are closing to so next year might not be best views, however they will only improve after that.

one of the other guys can tell you more though mate, and happy hunting

It''s a fantastic sight to see Saturns Rings. I remember my first time, seems like ages ago now. I still get excited by them now.

As for what scope.....

Any really will show Saturn. Of corse the better the scope or larger the scope more detail will appear. But generally 60mm or above.

Thanks for all the help with this! Algol, I'm guessing that by 'closing' you mean the orientation of the planet to ours will only show me the side-on view of the rings? What sort of time frame will I be looking at before they become easier to view? Hopefully it'll be a benefit, as I'll have a chance to practice finding objects/tracking/focusing etc with my scope before moving to bigger (better!) optics!

well next year your right the orientation is closing aye. maybe year after too not sure.

but after that it'll only improve, anyway the planet and it's moons are great and the rings will still be visible.

This is how Saturns rings will look by november this year, but they will start to improve after 2009 and look like second photo by 20012.

I really hope they're at their best before 20012!! :hello2:

Phil - your first view of Saturns rings whether nearly edge on or not will be pretty special! :clouds1: