Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Waiting time between exposures

First of all I would like to wish you all a Happy new year.

Being a complete newb in the art of astro and non photography I don't really know what settings to use.

Usualy when I don't know something I ask google for an answer and most of the times good old google is giving me a link to the nice SGL.

I already found something here but just to make sure I'm gonna ask the question here as well.

As far as I understood, for example, if I wanna take a sequence of more exposures of, let's say, 1 min the waiting time between them should be set to 2 min, 1 min for the camera to process the image and 1 min for the cool down?

Emil

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Assuming you are taking simple exposures (i.e. not using in camera processing) there seem to be opposing views on the advantages and disadvantages of leaving a period of time between each sub-exposure in order to reduce the build up of thermal noise in the camera.  Deductive reasoning would suggest this is a good idea and I suspect this may have been backed up by some experimental work by amateurs in the early days of DSLR astroimaging.

However, camera electronics in DSLRs are a lot 'quieter' nowadays and some suggest that with modern DSLR cameras the technique of leaving a pause between exposures just eats into the time when you could be collecting more data.  I would be fascinated to see if anyone has actually done some comparative tests on the two techniques with modern DSLRs.