Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

HEQ5 Synscan DEC drifting problem?

Alnasl

Hi there!

I'm a bit of a beginner, please forgive me if I'm not explaining things correctly, I can explain further if needed. :)

I bought a Sky-watcher HEQ5 mount with Synscan (firmware version 04.37.03), with the plan of using it as part of an art/educational exhibition event, so what I'm doing may sound completely nonsensical, but please bear with me knowing this is not for traditional viewing or photography purposes: it's going to be used to illustrate the motion of the earth in relation to the galaxy, so it will run 24-hours a day with a big wooden arrow on it instead of a telescope (it's very lightweight and balanced, of course, and I checked that it won't hit the tripod), running even when the galactic center is below the horizon and the sun it out. It will always be "pointing" to the center. I hope that makes sense. Strange, I know.

I have been doing some tests indoors before I use it in this project but I'm running into some issues. The coordinates I want to follow are RA 17h 45m 40s / DEC −29° 00′ 28″, the center of the Milky Way Galaxy. It doesn't appear to exist in any of the object databases in the Synscan (as far as I can tell, from looking in the Simbad database, unless I am wrong?) I'm at 59.9º N, meaning the location is most often below the horizon, so the mount will not slew to it 90% of the time when using the 'user defined objects.'

For the sake of my tests, what I have tried to do is to manually slew to the coordinates while the sidereal tracking in on, in the hopes that it will simply follow the motion.

However, I am finding a problem: it will start it at the exact coordinates I slew it to (RA 17h 45m 40s / DEC −29° 00′ 28″), but immediately it starts to slowly drift away in the DEC, one arcsecond at a time. For example, now at 12 hours of running, the DEC is at -28º 38' 16" (the RA remains accurate.)