Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which EP for full fov solar disc?

GUS

It all depends on the apparent field of view (AFOV) of the EP. Assuming a 0.5 deg solar disk, you can get the entire disk at 160x magnification with a Nagler (82 deg AFOV) or just about 2mm, but 140x is maximum magnification for a 72 deg AFOV Delos (or about 2.4mm). Using Plossl EPs you end up at 100x (3.3mm) for the 52 deg AFOV. In practice, I would go for about 60x or a 5.5mm, which will show the whole disk readily in any eyepiece. You can stretch to 120x (2.75mm) but it will not show much more detail

Thanks Supernova, I am just starting out at this. I learned through you that the greater the AFOV, the higher you can crank up the power and still have a full disc. I have a quark chromosphere and a 1.25" baader uv-ir cut filter on the way, as well as the mentioned scope, and I would like to binoview with the celestron BV. So for full disc I'll go with a pair of 5.5mm plossls that will also allow me to pay the rent. I would have thought that a much longer fl EP was necessary for a full disk view, like a 30mm. When I think of 5.5mm I imagine a really close-up view, let alone a 2mm, and in no case getting a full disk at those small fl's, go figure! So if you can get a full disc with a  2mm Nagler @ 82 deg AFOV, which is amazing, you can't do a close-up with it? Also you'd already be at 160x when the scope's objective supposedly only allows a useful magnification of up to 120x.. Moreover, I'm thinking if I get full disc views with 3.3mm 52° AFOV Plossls, how can I get a flare or sunspot close-up, since you can't go much smaller than 3.3mm, and at 100x you're at just about the 120x limit of the objective? Bewildered.