Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help choosing

Hi all,

I'm just getting started and have basically narrowed my choice down to 3 scopes, I know there is more to choosing but as a quickie answer which of these 3 would you go for?

Skywatcher explorer 130p synscan az goto. 130mm aperture 650mm/f5 focal length

Celestron nexstar 130slt. 130mm aperture 650mm focal length

Celestron 114lcm computerised newtonian reflector. 114mm aperture 1000mm focal length

any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm terrible when it comes to making final decisions!

Thanks. Gareth

Hello and welcome to the forum :D

I'd go for either of the 130mm scopes over the 114cm scope.

The latter is whats known as a "bird jones" design in that it uses an extra lens at the bottom of the focuser tube to achieve it's 1000mm focal length. This design is hard to get really good images from. Also, I feel that 114mm is just to small an aperture for a reflecting telescope to deliver satisfying performance.

There is not a great deal to pick between the two 130mm scopes you have listed. Their optics are quite possibly the same because they are made by the same manufacturer despite the different branding.

You can always identify a Bird-Jones reflector by a long focal-length crammed into a conspicuously short tube.  114mm to 150mm examples are extant, unfortunately, and are sold by Celestron, Meade, and also by "no-name" brands.  Here are some examples of Bird-Jones telescopes, and to be avoided like the plague...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Rokinon-1000-x-114mm-Reflector-Telescope-with-Starry-Night-CD-Software-Tripod-/351582050520?hash=item51dbec58d8:g:E7MAAOxy9tpSAYFn

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Seben-Big-Boss-1400-150-6-Reflector-Telescope-New/380278961431?_trksid=p2047675.c100009.m1982&_trkparms=aid%3D777000%26algo%3DABA.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20131227121020%26meid%3Db90cf57b22e4403cbd3df7b2b6af2710%26pid%3D100009%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D1%26mehot%3Dpp%26sd%3D131670466230